God’s Out Sick: Poem II

The second in a series of poems to be featured in my upcoming novel, now titled “God’s Out Sick” (at least for the time being).

This, as all other works posted here unless otherwise noted, is © me, this blog, S.Rae Meisinger and is not to be reposted, recreated, altered, or used anywhere else without permission. Contact me for more information if you would like to use it.

Constructive criticism always welcome.

Hark! The herald angels sing,
“Glory to the Reform King!
Peace for none and mercy lost,
you’re not a person, you’re just a cost.”

They’ve put the pennies on our eyes to keep us blind, to keep us numb.
They’ve put the pennies on our eyes to take them back once we succumb
to death or our fellows’ devil tongues, when it suits their wallets best,
when we have nowhere else to run.

And the cool of the copper is better than the scrape of the wool,
except one is meant to send us to the grave, the other to use us as fuel
to make an example of ignorance to the ignorant masses,
to use as a crutch,
to save their asses.

I proclaim to you now, we don’t need that wealth.

We need our minds, our bodies, our souls, and their respective health

We need what freedom used to be, or at least should have been
We need what freedom meant to me, when thinking wasn’t sin
We need to stand together, hand-in-hand, skin-on-skin
We need to make ourselves better
with every mind corrupted,
every child abducted,
every wall within
and without our haunted cities, derelict and forsaken.

Because our world can’t stand divided, it’s already begun to fall
“streets paved with gold” doesn’t have the same ring
when it comes down to “all for one and none for all”
no matter how loud and proud those dulcet angels sing

So, “Glory to the Reform King,” his filthy bribes, shining smile,
and our fractured dreams.

Glory to the pennies gleaned from cold dead eyes, to the government On High, the extreme Right-wing.

And if that glory would make you sick before you scream
I mean sing,
stand with me and make demand,

“We want free thought, and God be damned!”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “God’s Out Sick: Poem II

  1. Aul says:

    Oh my! I’m afraid that, being a devout Catholic, this is rather…disturbing. May I ask what prompted you to write this? And you can’t damn God 🙂 Damning someone means that you want them to go to Hell, and Hell is just the place where God isn’t. That’s what makes it so bad 😉

    Like

    • srmeisinger says:

      This poem, along with another posted on this blog and a few more to come, will be part of a novel I’m working on. It takes place in a parallel Universe to our own, sometime in the not-too-distant future. They will be spoken by my protagonist, who is an advocate for free thought and for liberation from world-wide theocracy. Unfortunately, the content of the book will most likely offend those like yourself who take the bible to be truth. I see it as nothing more than an inspirational book to teach lessons. So I assure you, I certainly can damn God because in the world I’ve created, evidence surfaces to disprove the theory of a higher power. The line, “We want free thought, and God be damned!” is a device symbolic of that.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment and inquire!

      Like

      • Aul says:

        I’m not offended, I’ve just feel challenged 🙂
        So may I inquire if you believe in God?
        Aul

        Like

      • srmeisinger says:

        Good! I hope it challenges others, whether to question their beliefs or to understand more of why they carry them.

        But to answer your question, I do not believe in God. I consider myself agnostic because I can’t disprove the notion, and no one else has yet. Thus, a time may come when concrete evidence may turn up either way. I’m open to that. I considered myself a Christian up through my teens, but deviated when I found further logic and evidence in my personal study of astrophysics and world history.

        Like

      • Aul says:

        I see. But have you ever considered that it’s more reasonable to believe that God does exist than not? Faith and reason aren’t contrary to each other; they are complementary.
        Aul

        Like

      • srmeisinger says:

        As I mentioned, I once identified as Christian. I went to service usually three times per week, if not more at my peak involvement. I was part of the “Prayer Team” and the “Blessing Team,” both groups of people who dug in further to scripture and into the good they could do for the community. I don’t have anything against Christianity at its base, but no I would not say that it is more “reasonable” to believe in God than not. I tried to carry that thought, that my faith could be bolstered by my affinity for reason. Until I started asking the “tough” questions of my friends, pastors, youth leaders, and parents (well, parent– my father is a devout atheist after growing up strict Catholic and my mother came to Christ much later in life).

        In my case, faith and logic are more on the verge of contrary to one another each and every day with the constantly fortified scientific proof against what the bible teaches as “truth.” If we look at the bible as a representation of things, not as the “true word of God written in His breath,” more allegorical and symbolic, then you may be onto something. However, most people who believe in God do not take that stance.

        I could attempt to warp my view and SAY I believe in God just for the sake of having amnesty upon “judgment day,” but I’m not going to do that. If there truly is a deity who will judge my immortal soul upon my death, I don’t believe that it is one that would care more that I believed in it than if I lived my life in a good way. And if there is such a deity that proclaims that my only hope at redemption is to believe in it, then I don’t want to go to that “heaven” anyway. Indeed, I would rather rot, burn, experience the worst turmoils endlessly for the rest of eternity than give my soul over to such a selfish god.

        There was a wonderful article published by Skeptic Magazine called “The Multiverse and The Deity” written by Richard Grigg (in case you’d like to read it for yourself) which describes in detail by way of hypothetical truths exactly why the concept of the multiverse disproves the existence of a god. Now, there is no concrete proof of the multiverse theory being true. This, among other reasons, is why I consider myself to be agnostic. The burden of proof lies on those who really care to find it. I don’t believe that if a god truly does exist, that it would be a self-serving one. So I’m not inclined to make it my life’s work to worry about it.

        But that is just one example of many. Great minds across the globe are getting closer and closer to finding the origins of our Universe. Unfortunately, most of that evidence does not point to God. In fact, the only evidence for God tends to be what is written in the bible, or concepts that are corroborated by or redirected to the bible.

        As I said, if a time comes when more evidence for God crops up, I may be inclined to change my tune. But I am a creature of logic and if God doesn’t like it, it’s His fault for making me this way.

        Like

give a buzz

