Universal Inspiration – Camp NaNoWriMo

It’s that time:

Camp time.

Usually I’m not one for the NaNoWriMo summer sessions, but with muse bursting from my mind’s seams, I’ve resolved to participate if for nothing else than outlining.

The WriMo community has been one of the leading wellsprings of resources for me in my many years of writing, including but not limited to that sometimes hard-to-come-by resource: Inspiration. Every novel I’ve started and/or finished (with the exception of “Untitled R.A.”) had its beginnings at the start of some November. Hell, such fantastic works as “Water For Elephants” by Sara Gruen and “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” by Carrie Ryan have humble roots in the yearly jaunt (find more published WriMos here). And that, for me, only serves as further incentive.

Because if they can do it, why can’t I?

Camp NaNoWriMo is a little different than the big shebang of 11/1. No stringent word-count, doesn’t have to be a novel, opt to join writing groups, etc. But it still offers that same community-based supply of writing tips, prompts, goals, discussions, links, documents, and more.

And it’s just a great excuse to write like the wind.

If you are a WriMo (or are thinking of becoming one), what has the experience offered to you as a writer? What have you learned or taken away from Camp or the “true” NaNoWriMo? Are you participating this year?

I’d love to connect with you!

Write on!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Universal Inspiration – Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. jrmccallum says:

    Hi, I’m JR and I was wondering, if you’re going to be blogging about Camp NaNo, if I could add you to my list of Camp NaNo bloggers. I’m creating a post including all the different Camp NaNo blogs I can find, because I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy reading about how other people are going throughout the month. It keeps me motivated. So if that’s okay, I’d like to add you to my list of bloggers for anyone else who likes to do that too.
    Thanks, JR

    Like

    • srmeisinger says:

      Hey, thanks! I’ll definitely be blogging about the Camp experience! This blog in and of itself is designed to question/challenge/showcase the writing experience as it happens over my life’s entire spectrum.

      So yes, it’s totally fine by me if you’d like to include my blog in your list! And I’ll be sure to check it out. I’m also quite motivated by seeing others progress and discover!

      Like

give a buzz

